The Everyman Experience

‘The Everyman’ is not some sort of dating agency, but it is in fact part of an artsy independant cinema chain, this particular one being based in Hampsted. Although I love cinema dearly, and would like the visit it often, I can’t afford the £10-15 every time to have the deluxe experience. But boy is it deluxe! The Everyman has sofas instead of seats, with real room to stretch out, little tables for your snack orders… which are then served to you by waiters and waitresses (that includes beer and canapes.)

What dare you ask was I seeing at the Everyman? Well it was none other than Steig Larsson’s ‘Girl with the Dragon Tattoo’. Again. This time it was for the nationwide release date in April, as apposed to the special preview screening I saw way back when at the filmfour frightfest. I can confidently say that despite the heady feeling of finishing Lent Term, I enjoyed this movie experience for its own sake. And even though I had already seen Lisbeth Salander kick ass on her own, then team up with Blomkvist to kick even more ass and solve a cold-case all in one film, I throughly enjoyed the experience. I mean, I ❤ the cinema anyway… So with added comfy sofa seating, a waitress to seat drinks service and to top it off a brilliant movie to watch, I was in my element!

The fact that ‘The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo’ stood up to a second screening so soon speaks very well for the home-grown Swedish edition (and Hollywood’s completed the deal on the remake seems even more pointless now.) I already knew the ending, which with a crime thriller can be quite deflating, but some how with all the confusion and added dimensions I really got into the story and was able to sit back and enjoy Noomi Rapace’s interpretation of the Salander. Which is bloody amazin’ eh?? And I don’t know about you but I love to watch a movie that I’ve already seen and gage other people’s reactions to it. My company’s wonderment at discovering a new movie, enjoying a particular scene, or possibly just their own unique reaction allows me to enjoy the movie all over again or have an animated discussion about the picture afterwards.

The Everyman is the perfect place for a bit of cinematic lovin’. I’m not detracting from its greatness of the cinema in general, I just think the more intimate and warm feeling one gets there, lends itself to watching your favourite films on the big screen again, and erm again.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment